Welcome to the Alexandria Area Economic Development Commission

A little about us…the Alexandria Area Economic Development Commission (AAEDC) is a non-profit, 501(c) (6) corporation and was established in 1990 by the City of Alexandria as a result of the Star City Program.


Provide regional leadership in a collaborative effort to facilitate job growth.


The Alexandria Area is a regional center sustaining a vibrant, growing economy that is attractive to businesses and to a capable, productive workforce. To ensure long-term vitality for economic development efforts in the Alexandria Area, the AAEDC sought legislative authority and received approval in 2003, to create the Lakes Area Economic Development Authority (LAEDA). The LAEDA model is the first of its kind in Minnesota to bring together communities and townships under a formal structure with designated EDA powers. This formal partnership between the City of Alexandria and Garfield, and the Townships of Alexandria and LaGrand is considered to be an innovative model in addressing local, long-term economic development issues across geographical boundaries.

Core Values

  • Stewardship: Provide leadership for an action-oriented coalition to support economic and community growth for our area.
  • Trust: Earn and sustain the trust of our business, communities and elected leaders we serve.
  • Regional Collaboration: Recognize and leverage the interrelatedness of people, businesses and communities in the Greater Alexandria area and support development efforts that benefit the region.
  • Teamwork: Economic development is a team effort. Engage the public, private and non-profit sectors and work cooperatively to build and maintain effective working relationships.
  • Respect: Recognize the area’s history, natural resources and people and embrace the opportunities they provide.
  • Financial Accountability: Provide responsible stewardship of public and private assets and resources.
  • Innovation: Innovate to compete and win.

LAEDA Mission

Support the mission of the Economic Development Commission by providing fair and equitable resources. The AAEDC continues to receive annual appropriations in support of economic development from Douglas County, and the Townships of Brandon, Carlos, Hudson, and Lake Mary. Through joint strategic planning processes between the AAEDC and the LAEDA, core initiatives and strategies are defined to develop a shared vision of the future and to identify goals and objectives against which progress toward achieving that vision can be measured.